Farleigh House has for long been the centre of the Farleigh Hungerford Estate. Much of the stone used to build the house in the 18th century came from the nearby Farleigh Hungerford Castle. The house was extended in the 18th and 19th centuries in the Gothic Revival style and until 1970 was owned by the Houlton family. In 1970 the house became a prep-school known as Ravenscroft School. When that school closed in 1996 it became Farleigh College a special needs school. In 2001 the house was sold to Inspecs a company that manufactured optical instruments. Acquired in 2010 by Bath Rugby it now serves as its Headquarters and training centre. A considerable amount of renovation (especially to masonry) has been undertaken as well as other works required by the Health & Safety Executive.
Browse by century:
Add an event
Please tell us about any heritage events taking place around Warwickshire, such as talks, walks and exhibitions. We'll promote the event on this site.
Recent Comments
- Adam Barstow on Barstow Harry
- Martin Sparkes on 1985 Tour to Boston and Rhode Island
- Stephen French on 1951-1952 Bath Squad photograph
- Herbie Davies on Williams Vaughan
- John Marshall on Glover Peter
No Comments
Comments Disabled
Comments are currently disabled while we update the site. Please come back shortly.